American Robin – The Well Known Indicator of Spring

American Robin

The groundhog this year said we would have an early Spring. He was right, to a point. We had several warm days towards the end of February. Then the cold returned. This tends to be what happens. I’ve learned to be optimistic with the groundhog’s prediction, but rely on the sighting of the American Robin.

First Sighting of a Robin this Year

Not all of the American Robins migrate. However, In my part of the United States, it is rare if we see one in the winter. They appear more at the end of February and their numbers increase through March as the birds return. The first to arrive seem to be checking things out more than anything else. Their singing doesn’t really begin until the end of March. We have started seeing some American Robins during the winter months. Probably because our winters seem to be staying warmer. No matter what, I watch for the increasing numbers, the I know Spring will soon arrive.

getting a drink

The American Robin is one of the first birds to migrate back into the area and they are the first to start laying eggs. The American Robin has very pretty blue eggs. I haven’t been able to get a photo of the eggs in a nest, but I haven’t really tried. I leave their nests alone. I did manage to get a picture of an American Robin in a nest, a few years ago. I’m pretty happy about that.

This photo was taken years ago. I have not been lucky enough to see a robin in its nest.

Here’s some interesting facts I learned recently (I checked out audubon.org). You might already know these things, but I like to share new things I have learned.

  • The American Robin has been spotted all across North America; Mexico, Canada and as far north as Alaska (this one surprised me).
  • They don’t maintain pair bonds. Each mating season they have a new partner.
  • Their eggs hatch in approximately 14 days
  • Average life span is two years.
Thinking about taking a bath

I like to watch the birds run in and out of the spaces within the fence. They do this because the bird food falls on both sides of the fence. Birds are messy, but they don’t like to leave a full shell. Time is spent rummage through empty shells in hopes of finding one that has not been opened. I like to capture the photo as they are peeking through the fence. That is the short story about the picture with the title. 🙂

Thank you for stopping by!

Hope you have been having a terrific day!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve been spotting them here too … always a welcome sight. Nice post!

Leave a comment